The Art of “Passing It Down” Was Broken

Standard

When I got married back in 1990, I didn’t know the first thing about registry lists, bridal showers, and wedding gifts. Yes, I grew up watching my mother flawlessly entertain, but I never threw my own party, never purchased my own dishes, and never even gave stocking my own kitchen a second thought.

I feel so fortunate that I had a mother that had a passion to plan, cook and entertain, and passed it down to her girls, and most times, she had to do it on a very tight budget. She learned it from her mother and her grandmothers. It was passed down from generations past, but at some point … something was broken in our world.

Everyone has their own tastes, and I am truly happy to see so many people cooking, entertaining, and finding their “voice” in their kitchen and home.

My theory is that my generation is the last  generation of children to have moms that stayed home either full time or part time and taught their daughters how to cook, take care of their home, and practice true hospitality. I feel that for whatever reason, women either chose to, or had to go into the work force. Whether to begin their path in a desired career, or to bring in a second income (as is basically required in this day and age), moms have had to wear so many hats: race to work, put their kids in day care, run a race of carpools, school drop offs, after school sports and commitments, homework helpers, cupcake bakers, laundry, cleaning, yard work… cooking and entertaining are by far the last things a mom has time to think of, let alone teach her kids.

In my twenty six years (this June) of marriage, I can soundly say that I’ve seen two and a half decades of women that for the most part, don’t know how to cook. Of course, there are exceptions — there always are, but this tells me one thing. At some point… the art of “Passing it Down” was broken. But then… Cooking boomed in Magazines! Then on TV! Then on the Internet! Then on Pinterest!  And now? Women, men, teens, children, EVERYONE is cooking! It’s so exciting!

IMG_2522

Everyone has their own tastes, and I am truly happy to see so many people cooking, entertaining, and finding their “voice” in their kitchen and home. But still, there are those that have never learned the basics of cooking, have never given a thought on how to stock their kitchen and pantry, and are intimidated by the thought of what to put on their own registry once they are engaged. Don’t be intimidated! We’re going to work through this together! And it’s going to be fun!!!

Just remember… Entertaining might be intimidating your first time, but its not always going to be like that. You soon will find that it’s fun, exciting… and its where friendships are bonded, family is strengthened, laughter is loud, games are played,  secrets are shared, and tons of fun is had by all. And that’s all… According to Giselle!

 

About According to Giselle

Hi, I'm Giselle. I'm just a simple woman with simple desires, many talents, and a wish to share my ideas with you. In my home, I find that food is a way that everyone connects with each other, begins to find comfort and opens up, expresses themselves, finds joy. New and old friends, family ... each person slowly opens up to each other and begins to connect around food, fellowship, and laughter. I hope that along the way, we can connect and become friends as well. I invite you to join me on this journey of laughter, joy, sadness, food, entertainment, and so much more! And its all... According to Giselle.

Leave a Reply

