Simplify Morning Beauty

Standard

I have to confess, I never listened to my mother’s advice about beauty as closely as I should have. She has great skin. She just turned 76, and she looks like she’s in her fifties. She takes great care of her skin, and I promise to share her secrets, but first, here’s one of my tips… SIMPLIFY your beauty routine. If it’s complicated and expensive, or if you have many steps to follow, chances are you won’t commit to it. Let’s face it … we are busy women on the run!

First, you don’t have to wash your face every single morning with cleanser if you wash it at night (unless you sweat all night). Washing your face too much strips it of its natural oils, which your face needs. If you strip your face of its oils, it breaks out in zits. I know … sounds wonky. But its true. In the evenings, you can use cleansing wipes, your normal cleanser or, you can wash your face in the shower. It’s the best time to remove all the day’s grime AND your makeup… NEVER go to bed with your makeup still on. Then, in the morning, just splash your face with warm water. My mom uses HOT, scalding water, but I can’t handle hot water in the morning. Or ever. Follow it with a splash of cool water to close your pores. Pat dry and apply moisturizer.

This is where simplifying your life comes in to play. Choose just one moisturizer and set a routine for yourself. I need a routine, because I FORGET EVERYTHING, so I place it next to my deodorant, perfume, and the three prescriptions (and my inhaler) that I must use every morning. That way, I remember to use it every day. Simple. I don’t go hunting for my moisturizer. It’s just there, and again, in all honesty, I don’t gently apply it. I slather it on my face, forehead, nose, around my eyes, ON my eye lids, my neck, my chest, etc. No ring finger smoothing of lotion here. I do it quickly and on the go as I’m walking down the hall to rouse my son out of bed.

IMG_1740

And my moisturizer of choice: Olay Regenerist Deep Hydration Regenerating Cream. I love Olay Regenerist (WITHOUT sunscreen, because the sunscreen clogs my pores and it makes me sweat). It’s what I use, it’s what I recommend, and it’s what my friend recommended to me when I went looking for a recommendation on what to use. (Try saying recommend five times.)

How and Why does this moisturizer work? This moisturizer hydrates your skin, which is so important as you age… especially if you don’t keep up with drinking water all day. Your skin needs moisture for it to look plump and smooth. Olay has an Amino-Peptide Complex in this moisturizer. Skin is mostly made up of collagen, and as you age, you have less collagen in your skin. Peptides are molecules that tell your skin to make new collagen, and that is what helps improve the appearance of fine lines in your skin. It has amino acids that exfoliate the old cells and encourage new cell growth. Your skin absorbs it quickly, it’s light, isn’t greasy, and it leaves your skin so soft and silky.

I can generally find it on Amazon.com for slightly under $20, and if I look hard enough, I can nab it on sale for under $10! Also, you can find it at Costco, or if I have CVS coupons or Walgreens points, I can get it for almost nothing. If you really want to simplify, get the one with sunscreen, but If I go outside, I use my own sunscreen so I can control the kind and amount I use.

About fancy moisturizers… You can find moisturizers with Amino Peptide Complex and more, but honestly, I don’t buy into all those expensive imported creams or department store products because I just don’t have the budget for it. I’d love to pamper my self, but we are a single income family not by choice, but rather because of my health, and cutting back on all of those luxuries was a no brainer. If you want to purchase more expensive moisturizers, have at it, but this works very well, and it’s award wining, so why look any further!

It leaves my skin soooo soft, and smooth — meaning NO BUMPS! I’d highly recommend this product to any busy mom in her 40’s who is always rushing around and doesn’t have time to waste on being beautiful, if you know what I mean. So … GO BE BEAUTIFUL without any effort! Simplify. And that’s — According To Giselle.

About According to Giselle

Hi, I'm Giselle. I'm just a simple woman with simple desires, many talents, and a wish to share my ideas with you. In my home, I find that food is a way that everyone connects with each other, begins to find comfort and opens up, expresses themselves, finds joy. New and old friends, family ... each person slowly opens up to each other and begins to connect around food, fellowship, and laughter. I hope that along the way, we can connect and become friends as well. I invite you to join me on this journey of laughter, joy, sadness, food, entertainment, and so much more! And its all... According to Giselle.

Leave a Reply

